A Chorus of Disapproval

A Chorus Of Disapproval marked the 25th anniversary of Alan Ayckbourn’s career as a playwright and was his 31st full-length play. From conception it was always highly ambitious. Wanting to write a piece about amateur musicals, Alan had the idea of a play based around the operetta The Vagabond King.

The production would incorporate approximately 85 local amateur singers for the chorus (Alan’s biographer, Paul Allen, believed it was 20 people but Alan clearly states his grander intentions in Ian Watson’s Conversations With Ayckbourn).

His initial idea was to have the chorus scattered around the auditorium. About 25 minutes in, they would start singing and, in Alan’s words, cause “the person next to them to look absolutely alarmed.”

Subsequently on 9 March, 1984, the Scarborough Evening News ran a news piece advertising auditions for amateur singers with soloing experiences.

Cast & Creative

Cast List

Character Actor
Guy Jones Andrew Yeates
Dafydd ap Llewellyn John Tustin
Hannah Llewellyn Mandy Stenhouse
Bridget Baines Dorne Hill
Mr Ames Gavin Morgan
Enid Washbrook Lynne Tompkins
Rebecca Huntley-Pike Merian Ganjou
Fay Hubbard Claire Godwin
Ian Hubbard Nicholas King
Javis Huntley-Pike Iain Calder
Ted Washbrook Richard Matthiae
Crispin Usher Martin Wilcox
Linda Washbrook Lesley Whithair
Raymond Ray Pitt

Creative Team

Role Name
Director Mike Carver
Musical Director Gavin Morgan (assisted by Mike Carver)
Production Manager Martin Wilcox
Stage Manager Wesley Henderson Roe
Deputy Stage Manager Marion Pitt
Costumes Spectrum Productions
Set Design Mike Carver (assisted by Dafydd ap Llewellyn)
Additional Costumes and Wigs Sue Buxton
Lighting Design Raymond
Poster Design Stephen Brookhouse
Prompt Tricia Vandepeer
Box Office Suzanne Yeates

Show Date: May 1992

Venue: Parkshot

Rehearsal & Show Highlights

View Past Shows View Current Show